Category: Uncategorized

Dr. Lisa Sanetti named Teaching Fellow

April 23, 2015

Dr. Lisa Sanetti, associate professor in School Psychology, has been named the 2015-16 University of Connecticut Teaching Fellow. The award was announced at a ceremony in the Alumni House on April 22.

Dr. Chris Rhoads Named Outstanding EAQ Journal Reviewer

April 15, 2015

Measurement, Evaluation, and Assessment Assistant Professor Chris Rhoads was named Educational Administration Quarterly (EAQ) Outstanding Reviewer for 2014-15. The announcement was made by the journal’s editor, Dr. Casey Cobb. Educational Administration Quarterly publishes prominent empirical and conceptual articles focused on timely and critical leadership and policy issues of educational organizations.

EPSY Professor Jonathan Plucker co-authors new report on “Excellence Gap”

April 1, 2015

While conventional wisdom may hold that academically gifted students can take care of themselves in school, a new report co-authored by UConn professor of education Jonathan Plucker reveals a starkly different story. High-achieving students from low-income households are lagging far behind their wealthier peers in schools across the United States; and this situation has created an expanding […]

EPSY Faculty Receive Four Research Excellence Awards

March 26, 2015

Research Excellence Awards The Office of the Vice President for Research has announced the recipients of the 2015 Research Excellence Program (REP) awards. The primary goal of the REP is to provide seed funding to promote, support, and enhance the research, scholarship, and creative endeavors of faculty at UConn, including (but not limited to) the […]

Dr. Noel Card Named Journal of Research on Adolescence Editor

March 11, 2015

Dr. Noel Card (EPSY–Measurement, Evaluation and Assessment Program) has been named the next Journal of Research on Adolescence (JRA) Editor. He was selected last month by SRA’s Executive Council based on a comprehensive and detailed search and review process. Dr. Card’s term starts July 1, 2015, when he and his Associate Editors start taking new manuscripts.

Dr. Chris Rhoads is chief statistician on federally funded project

February 12, 2015

In today’s high pressure health care environment, doctors, pharmacists, insurers, and others must constantly scan the latest medical news in order to stay abreast of the most effective treatments. But there are so many medical studies in circulation that it is practically impossible for health care professionals to review all of the material with a […]

Counseling Graduate Honored at White House

February 3, 2015

Vanessa Montorsi, director of counseling for Cheshire Public Schools, was selected as School Counselor of the Year by the Connecticut School Counseling Association. Vanessa is a graduate of EPSY’s School Counseling program. Semi-finalists were honored at the White House in January. The Counselor of the Year Award was started by First Lady Michelle Obama to […]

Dr. Ron Beghetto Named Faculty Member of the Year

February 2, 2015

EPSY Associate Professor, Dr. Ron Beghetto, was named 2015 Faculty Member of the Year by Alpha Lambda Delta National Honor Society. Each year society members nominate a professor that had a profound impact on their career at UConn. This year, the Executive Board selected Dr. Beghetto. He will receive his award at the society’s induction ceremony […]

EPSY Lands National Center for Research

December 7, 2014

As excited as Gifted and Talented Education Professor Del Siegle is about having the newly formed National Center for Research on Gifted Education (NCRGE) at UConn, he’s even more excited about what its researchers can achieve. Chosen through a competitive selection process and authorized by the U.S. Congress-revitalized Jacob K. Javits Gifted and Talented Students […]

Dr. Bianca Montrosse-Moorhead named 2014 Marcia Guttentag Promising New Evaluator Recipient

October 1, 2014

Dr. Bianca Montrosse-Moorhead, Measurement, Evaluation, and Assessment Program, is the 2014 Marcia Guttentag Promising New Evaluator Award winner from the American Evaluation Association. The award is presented to a promising new evaluator during the first five years after completion of his or her Masters or Doctoral degree and whose work is consistent with the AEA Guiding […]