EPSY Faculty Receive Four Research Excellence Awards

Research Excellence Awards

The Office of the Vice President for Research has announced the recipients of the 2015 Research Excellence Program (REP) awards. The primary goal of the REP is to provide seed funding to promote, support, and enhance the research, scholarship, and creative endeavors of faculty at UConn, including (but not limited to) the strategic and emerging areas delineated in the Academic Plan and national and global priorities..

The 2015 REP competition included 108 submitted proposals (70 single PI and 38 multi-PI) with $3.2M in requested funding.

Of the 108 proposals submitted, the OVPR is pleased to announce support for 37 awards for a total of $1M in support:

  • Single PI Awards: 24 awards (34% funded); $513,310 awarded
  • Multi-PI Awards: 13 awards (34% funded); $506,082 awarded

The 2015 REP Neag awardees are:

Jennifer Freeman, PI, Educational Psychology
Reducing High School Drop Out by Embedding College and Career Readiness into School-wide Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports 24,737

Devin Kearns, PI, Educational Psychology
As Children Get Older, Do Long Words Get Easier? Longitudinal Examination of Polysyllabic Word Reading in Elementary-Age Children $23,580

Tamika La Salle, PI, Educational Psychology and George Sugai, Co-PI, Educational Psychology
Increasing School Climate and Student Outcomes through PBIS $43,498

Rachelle Perusse, PI, Educational Psychology, Melissa A. Bray, Co-PI, Educational Psychology, Erik M. Hines, Co-PI, Educational Psychology, Xaé Alicia Reyes, Co-PI, Curriculum & Instruction, Eliana Rojas, Co-PI, Curriculum & Instruction, Michael Young, Co-PI, Educational Psychology
Making STEM Accessible to All Students: Teaching K-12 Students about STEM Careers$25,00