Category: Uncategorized

Kaufman Finds Creativity Lacking in College Admission Process

January 29, 2016

Educational Psychology professor James C. Kaufman found that traditional college admission practices are capturing only part of a student’s overall potential when they overlook creativity. Read more at

Betsy McCoach Receives 2016 Distinguished Researcher Awards

January 14, 2016

D. Betsy McCoach, Measurement, Evaluation, and Assessment Program Coordinator, was named the 2016 Neag Distinguished Researcher. This award is given to a senior level-investigator in the Neag School of Education who, over at least the past 10-year period of time (at least five consecutive years at UConn), has made significant research contributions to his or […]

Dr. Erik Hines Holds a Seminar on Black Males in Higher Education

November 8, 2015

Dr. James L. Moore III, a distinguished professor of Urban Education and Executive Director of the Todd Anthony Bell National Resource Center, and Dr. Erik Hines, Assistant Professor at UConn in Counseling, held a seminar on the Black male experience in higher education at the Dodd Center Konover Auditorium on Thursday, November 5.

Ron Hambleton IRT Talk Set for October 30

October 23, 2015

Dr. Ronald Hambleton, a world renowned expert in Item Response Theory, will be giving a colloquium in the Neag School of Education on Friday, October 30th from 1:00pm -2:30pm in Room 144 Gentry.  All faculty, staff, and students are welcome to attend. Dr. Hambleton is co-author of several textbooks including “Fundamentals of Item Response Theory,” and editor or co-editor of […]

Dr. Jonathan Plucker Authors New Policy Brief

August 21, 2015

The International Association for the Evaluation of Educational Achievement announced the release of a new policy brief authored by Dr. Jonathan Plucker, Giftedness, Creativity, and Talent Development Program. The brief entitled, Advanced Academic Performance: Exploring Country-Level Differences in the Pursuit of Educational Excellence can be downloaded from IEA’s website.  The International Association for the Evaluation […]

School Psych Graduate Publishes Article of the Year

August 9, 2015

Neag School Psychology graduate, Dr. Steve Kilgus, won article of year from the Journal of School Psychology.  The announcement was made during the annual APA convention in Toronto. Dr. Sandra Chafouleas, Professor of School Psychology and Associate Dean, served as Kilgus’ major advisor at UConn.

Sugai to Speak at White House

July 21, 2015

Dr. George Sugai, Special Education, will be a guest panelist at an upcoming convening on supportive school discipline taking place at the White House on Wednesday, July 22nd.

McCoach’s Research Noted by Education and Society

June 5, 2015

Recently published research by Dr. D. Betsy McCoach (Measurement, Evaluation, and Assessment) and her former Ph.D. student, Karen Rambo-Hernandez, was featured on the Education and Society blog. The two researchers found that high-achievers showed almost no change in the rate of reading level improvement between the school year and the summer. The researchers noted that summer […]

DelCampo selected Intern of the Year for CASP

May 27, 2015

UConn School Psychology graduate student Marisa DelCampo was chosen as Intern of the Year by the Connecticut Association of School Psychologists (CASP).   Ms. DelCampo wase honored at the association’s meeting on June 3. Dr. Melissa Bray is Ms. DelCampo’s  Ph.D. advisor.