University of Connecticut University of UC Title Fallback Connecticut

Author: Del Siegle

CBER Celebrates 10 Years of Success

The Center for Behavioral Education and Research celebrated its 10th anniversary on October 14. The celebration highlighted the Center’s accomplishments and recognized the leadership of founding director, Dr. George Sugai.

For those of who were unable to attend in person, enjoy photos from the event here. You can also find CBER highlights here.  To learn more about CBER, visit the website, where you can check out the projects presently underway as well as the interests of CBER researchers.

Dr. Brandi Simonsen, Dr. Michael Coyne, Vice Provost Sally Reis, Dr. George Sugai, and Dean Gladis Kersaint at 10th Anniversary Celebration for CBER (Center for Behavior Education & Research)
Dr. Brandi Simonsen, Dr. Michael Coyne, Vice Provost Sally Reis, Dr. George Sugai, and Dean Gladis Kersaint at 10th Anniversary Celebration for CBER (Center for Behavior Education & Research)

Gubbins Nets National Award for Math Unit

EPSY Professor E. Jean Gubbins  and a group of Neag School alumni have received a 2016 Curriculum Network Curriculum Award from the National Association for Gifted Children (NAGC) in recognition of a math unit titled “Geometry & Measurement for All Shapes & Sizes,” developed for the National Research Center on the Gifted and Talented. The unit was developed by Gubbins as well as alumni Shelbi Cole’10 Ph.D.Nancy Heilbronner ’09 Ph.D.Jeffrey Corbishley ’07 (ED)Jennifer Savino ’12 Ph.D., and Rachel McAnallen ’11 Ph.D. The awards competition seeks to identify different curriculum units, for heterogeneous classrooms and gifted education programs, that can be shared with other educators as models of exemplary curriculum. The award will be presented at the 2016 NAGC Annual Convention in Orlando, Fla., in November.

EPSY Counseling Professor Robert Colbert Passes

It is with great sadness that we report that Dr. Robert Colbert passed away peacefully on Friday, August 12.  Dr. Colbert joined UConn in 2001 and was head of the EPSY Department Counseling program. He received his Ph.D. in Counseling Psychology from the University of Wisconsin in 1987. His research expertise and interests focused on alleviating disparities in public schools based on race and include, the study of microaggressions, discipline sanctions, school counselor role in facilitating positive student racial identity development, and college and career readiness in urban schools. He is survived by his wife and two daughters.

A Celebration of Life will be held on Saturday, Oct. 1, 2016, 11 a.m. – 1:30 p.m. at the Amherst College Alumni House, 75 Churchill Street, Amherst, MA 01002.

If you plan to attend, please RSVP to by 5 p.m. on Monday, Sept. 19, 2016. If you would like to donate food for the celebration, please indicate this in your RSVP message.

Monetary donations may be made to the Neag School of Education Dean’s Fund in Robert Colbert’s honor. Contributions will go toward supporting students of color in the school counseling program. If making a donation, please specify that you are giving in honor of Robert Colbert in the “Additional Instructions about my Donations” section.

For more information, contact: Erik Hines at


Chafouleas Elected President of SSSP

Sandy Chafouleas, EPSY professor, has been elected the incoming President of the Society for the Study of School Psychology (SSSP).  The purpose of SSSP is to advance basic and applied scientific research, disseminate research findings to broad audiences, and foster communication about the specialty of school psychology.  Membership in SSSP is limited to nomination and invite only. In the 1960s, SSSP founded the prestigious Journal of School Psychology.  The not for profit entity funds major initiatives such as the Early Career Research Award, Dissertation Grant Award, International Research Award, School Psychology Research Collaboration Conference, and the Research Registry. Her term begins in 2017 as President-Elect.

Photo of Chafouleas speaking

Hamilton Receives Dissertation Award

Dr. Rashea Hamilton was selected as the recipient of the 2015 William E. Loadman Outstanding Dissertation Award for Educational Psychology at The Ohio State University. This award is given annually to the Ph.D. student who has completed and defended the most outstanding dissertation in each academic area during the previous year. Dr. Hamilton is a Research Associate for the National Center for Research on Gifted Education in the Neag School of Education at UConn.

Dr. Rashea Hamilton receives outstanding dissertaton award

Picture: Dr. Rashea Hamilton (center) is presented with a William E. Loadman Dissertation Award by donor Professor Emeritus William E. Loadman (left) and Dr. Eric Anderman, her advisor and the chair of the Department of Educational Studies.

Kehle and School Psych Program Recognized for Research Productivity

Dr. Thomas Kehle is among the most published school psychologists from 1907-2014 according to a recently published review of publication in School Psychology Quarterly (March 2016), Vol. 31, No. 1.   UConn was listed as seventh out of all school psychology programs for the number of publications by school psychology faculty and students at a university for that period. In addition to Kehle, UConn school psychology professors include Dr. Melissa Bray, Dr. Sandra Chafouleas, Dr. Lisa Sanetti, and Dr. Tamika La Salle.

Siegle Receives National Award for Impact on Gifted Education

Dr. Del Siegle was recognized for his impact on gifted education as recipient of the 2016 Palmarium Award, presented Feb. 4 in Denver.

The Institute for the Development of Gifted Education at the University of Denver presented the award during its annual conference.

Siegle is a professor of gifted and talented and Head of the Department of Educational Psychology in the Neag School of Education at UConn. He also serves as director of the National Center for Research on Gifted Education, the federal government’s only funded national center on giftedness.

The Palmarium Award is presented to the individual most exemplifying the vision of the Institute for the Development of Gifted Education: A future in which giftedness will be understood, embraced and systemically nurtured throughout the nation and world. Recipients demonstrate that vision through practical impacts on education, advocacy outreach, educational publications and influential research.

“I am honored and humbled to receive the third annual Palmarium Award,” Siegle said.

After receiving the award, Siegle delivered a talk titled Tips for Making a Difference in Young People’s Lives, addressing important attitudes toward learning that enable young people to be successful.

Siegle is a past president of the National Association for Gifted Children, the largest organization dedicated to promoting the needs of gifted and talented children. He is also chair of the American Educational Research Association’s Research on Giftedness, Creativity, and Talent SIG. With over 650 state, national, and international presentations and over 100 articles, book chapters, and books on gifted and talented education, Siegle is nationally recognized for his work on motivation and underachievement of gifted students.