Prof. Del Siegle — Interview With the National Association for Gifted Children

Del Siegle, professor and associate dean for research and faculty affairs at UConn’s Neag School of Education is interviewed about his career and expertise in gifted education by National Association for Gifted Children (NAGC) member and Neag School alum Carla Brigandi ’15 Ph.D., now assistant professor of gifted education at West Virginia University. Video produced by Gordon Daigle.

Follow the link to view the full interview:

10 Questions With Counseling Professor Clewiston D. Challenger

In our recurring 10 Questions series, the Neag School catches up with students, alumni, faculty, and others throughout the year to offer a glimpse into their Neag School experience and their current career, research, or community activities. 

Clewiston D. Challenger joined the Neag School as an assistant professor of counseling…

Prof. Betsy McCoach interviewed on the radio about how students in poverty are less likely to be identified as gifted

Gifted children
Betsy McCoach Professor, Measurement, Evaluation, and Assessment program Department of Educational Psychology discusses how students in poverty are less likely to be identified as gifted. Airdate: March 22, 2018.

You can listen to a  recording of the interview here or a copy can be downloaded from the WILI 1400 AM show archive website.

Read the article on UConn Today

Congratulations to TWO Educational Psychology Faculty on Receiving 2018 AAUP Excellence Awards:




A formal presentation is planned on Monday, April 23, 2018, at the State Capitol building in Room #310, 9:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.  Any and all who wish to attend are welcome.  Please RSVP or the UConn-AAUP office 860-487-0450.

In Memoriam: Professor Thomas Kehle

Thomas J. Kehle, professor of school psychology in the Neag School Department of Educational Psychology, passed away on Feb. 7, 2018.

An expert in such areas as cognitive psychology, school climate, assessment, classroom discipline, and behavioral intervention, Kehle joined the faculty at the University of Connecticut in 1987. (Read the full article)


The obituary from the School Psychology Program may be downloaded here.

The obituary from the Hartford Courant may be viewed here.


Students in Poverty Less Likely to be Identified as Gifted

UConn gifted education specialists have published the first study to demonstrate a link between student poverty, institutional poverty, and the lower identification rate of gifted low-income students.

The study, “Disentangling the Roles of Institutional and Individual Poverty in the Identification of Gifted Students,” was published in the journal Gifted Child Quarterly. Researchers found that students eligible for free or reduced lunch programs are less likely to be identified for gifted education services even after controlling for prior math and reading achievement scores. In addition, the findings indicated that students in low-income schools have a further reduced possibility of being identified for gifted services.  (Read the full article)

Prof. VanHeest quoted on her work on sport science in her new book!

Behind the artistry of today’s Olympic figure skaters lies some serious science. A new book by UConn professor Jaci VanHeest will make the research underlying elite skaters’ training accessible for the first time to coaches and athletes everywhere.

“Every sport has its mythology, but the science is critical,” says VanHeest.

Figure skating is one of the oldest Olympic sports, but there’s not a lot written about the science of it. Coaches who want data-driven training techniques have very little information to go on. Jaci VanHeest, associate professor of educational psychology in the Neag School of Education with a joint appointment in kinesiology in the College of Agriculture, Health, and Natural Resources, specializes in the performance of elite athletes and is a member of the Medicine and Science committee for USA Figure Skating. She and her coauthor and former graduate student in exercise physiology, Jason Vescovi, now with Skate Canada, wrote The Handbook of Sports Medicine and Science, Figure Skating to fill that gap. (Read full article)